Student Prize winners for 2019

THE IPEM Student Prize is presented for the best project on an IPEM accredited MSc course and is judged by the course director.

The winners receive £250 and a certificate and the winners for 2019 were:

  • Harry Andrews, University of Surrey, MSc Medical Physics: Quantification of 123I[FP-CIT] SPECT Brain images - Measurement of Specific Binding Ratio
  • Nur Khairah Bahirah Binti Safian, University of Malaya, MMed Physics: Diffusion Kurtosis Imaging of the Breast Using MRI at 3.0 Tesla
  • Maram Alqarni, King’s College London, MSc Med Eng and Physics: Automatic Segmentation of the Left Ventricle in 3-D Echocardiography Images
  • Yunyang Cui, University College London, MSc Physics and Eng in Medicine: Monitoring Brain Activity During Navigation in the Real world by fNIRS
  • Savvas Shiangoli, University of Surrey, MSc Biomedical Engineering: Experimental and Computational Evaluation of Shockwave Therapy Applicators
  • Connor Abraham, University of Swansea, MSc Medical Radiation Physics: Neurocognitive efects of head and neck Radiotherapy.  Volumes of the brain receiving different levels of dose, for head and neck cancer VMAT
  • Elisabeth Stamou, University of Aberdeen,  MSc Medical Physics: The effects of iron deposition on cognition: A quantitative susceptibility mapping study
  • Laura Burberry,  MSc Clinical Science (Medical Physics): A Retrospective Review of the Impact of Quantitative VQ SPECT on Clinical Outcome for Emphysema Patients.

Professor Stephen O’Connor, IPEM’s President, said: ‘Congratulations to all of the winners who thoroughly deserve their award.’

Posted: Feb 3, 2020,
Categories: IPEM News,
Comments: 0,
Author: Sean Edmunds


© Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine

Registered in England and Wales (No. 3080332)
Registered Charity (No.1047999)