IPEM President and Vice Presidents

IPEM President 

Dr Anna Barnes’ career has spanned all three of the sectors that our membership is drawn from; NHS-Scotland 1993-2001, US academia 2001-2003 and 2005-2006, UK industry 2004, UK academia 2007-2012, and NHS-England 2012-2021.

Anna has held many roles at IPEM; Membership Registrar 2000-2001, Member of MRI-SIG 2008-2012, VP External Relations 2013-2016, Member trustee 2018-2021, VP academic 2021-23.

Alongside Anna's volunteering roles for IPEM, Anna volunteers with 2 other charities that supports diversity in higher education in STEM subjects: in2scienceUK and Education and Employers. During the 25+ yrs working in Medical Physics Anna has held jobs in the NHS, industrial sector and HEI as a teacher and a researcher. From 2015-2021 she held a HEE/NIHR fellowship designed to support integrated clinical academic research careers.

Anna is currently the director of King’s College Technical Evaluation Centre and honorary consultant clinical scientist in healthcare technology assessment, performing evaluations of new medical device technology on behalf of NICE and NHS England. KiTEC is part of King’s College London University with a diverse team with dual NHS/HEI honorary contracts, from different working backgrounds: industry, NHS and HEI as well as different nationalities and ethnic backgrounds. Working with these amazing young people has proven to Anna that what we seek to do in making IPEM more inclusive and diverse is completely possible and indeed desirable for the future success of IPEM. Anna has a particular interest in medical imaging and artificial intelligence and has hosted several PhD studentships in these fields since 2010.

Anna frequently shares vlogs on issues of interest to members and the wider community, which can be found here:

IPEM Vice Presidents

Vice President Academic: Dr Ben Metcalfe
Head of Electronic Engineering Department, University of Bath

Vice President Engineering: Dr Warren Macdonald 
Senior Teaching Fellow, Department of Bioengineering, Imperial College London

Vice President External: Sebastian Janner
Principal Clinical Scientist in Nuclear Medicine, Royal Brompton and Harefield Hospital

Vice President Industry: Ms Grace Keane
Clinical Scientist, Boston Scientific

Vice President International: Dr Claire-Louise Chapple 
Head of Imaging Physics & Radiation Safety, Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Vice President Medical Physics: Mr Matthew Dunn 
Head of Radiation Physics, Medical Physics and Clinical Engineering, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

Vice President Scotland: Prof Andrew Reilly
Scientific Director, Department of Clinical Physics and Bioengineering, NHS GGC

Vice President Wales: Prof Andy Irwin
Director of Medical Physics and Clinical Engineering, Swansea Bay University Health Board

Vice President Wales: Dr Kate Bryant
Consultant Clinical Scientist, Head of Non-ionising Radiation, Medical Physics & Clinical Engineering Department, Cardiff and Vale University Health Board

Vice President Northern Ireland: Prof Alan Hounsell 
Head of the Regional Medical Physics Service at the Belfast HSC Trust and Head of the Radiotherapy Physics Service at the Northern Ireland Cancer Centre (NICC)