Raising the profile of medical physics wins IPEM member a prestigious award

CHAMPIONING the medical physics discipline has led to an IPEM member winning a prestigious award.

Dr Dimitra Darambara, team leader, Multimodality Molecular Imaging in the Department of Physics at the Institute of Cancer Research, the Royal Marsden Hospital, London, is the recipient of the Philips Award 2019 from the Institute of Physics (IOP).

She received the award for her significant contributions to the IOP through a number of special interest groups and championing the medical physics discipline.

As former chair of the IOP’s Medical Physics Group, she recognised the need to build strong links between academia, the NHS and the healthcare industry. She has played a leading role in creating and coordinating a wide range of activities which truly reflect the modern and diverse make-up of the discipline. This has encouraged a greater commitment to delivering physics-based solutions to healthcare challenges and introducing them to the clinic, including initiating the translational science meetings as a popular annual fixture in the group calendar.

Dr Darambara served as a trustee on the Mayneord-Phillips Memorial Trust Board, acting as secretary and chair. She has been a member of the Policy Centre Healthcare & Biomedical Engineering Topic Group at the Royal Academy of Engineering and represented medical physics on the Science Council’s ‘Science in Health’ strategy group. In 2018 she successfully proposed the creation of the IOP Peter Mansfield Medal and Prize to recognise distinguished contribution to medical physics. She remains a committed and active member of the group.

She is internationally recognised for her research, as reflected by her chairing the 2019 IEEE Medical Imaging Conference in Manchester, the key international multidisciplinary medical imaging event of the year.

Dr Darambara has passionately encouraged the participation, retention and recognition of the impact of women physicists. She held the chair of the Women in Physics Group (2000-2003) and represented IOP on the WISE National Coordinating Committee, as co-chair of the UK national delegation at the 1st IUPAP WIP conference (2002, Paris), and co-author of IUPAP/IOP Report ‘Women Physicists Speak’. Her work helped to consolidate the reputation of IOP internationally as a supporter of female physicists.

She is a founder member of the Higher Education Group and served as a committee member and newsletter editor. She represented the IOP at the Euroscience Open Forum in Copenhagen in 2014, and at the American Association for the Advancement of Science in Boston in 2017 – global events raising awareness of science in the general public – as an invited speaker. She is a member of the Science Policy Advisory Group and physics judge at the SET Educational Awards.

Professor Stephen O’Connor, IPEM’s President, said: ‘I am delighted Dimitra’s contribution to medical physics has been recognised with the presentation of this prestigious award by the Institute of Physics.’

Posted: Nov 21, 2019,
Categories: IPEM News,
Comments: 0,
Author: Sean Edmunds


© Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine

Registered in England and Wales (No. 3080332)
Registered Charity (No.1047999)