IPEM members among the 2019 NHS Healthcare Science Awards winners

A NUMBER of IPEM members were recognised at the 2019 NHS Healthcare Science Awards.

The awards, now in their 13th year, celebrate the tremendous contribution and achievements of the healthcare science workforce and the impact they have on patient outcomes, championing inspiring case studies of quality improvement, innovative partnerships and pioneering service delivery.

Professor Mark Tooley, IPEM’s President, was presented with the Healthcare Science Lifetime Achievement award by Chief Scientific Officer Professor Dame Sue Hill at the CSO’s Annual Conference in London. 

Sofia Kordolaimi, a medical physicist at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust, was named as one of the two Healthcare Science Rising Stars. Her award was for her role in protocol development and introduction of new innovative radiotherapy treatment at the hospital, leading to shorter treatment times and reduced intra-fraction variation for patients.


Ela Bardan, Deputy Head of Clinical Engineering at United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust, was part of the team who won the Excellence in Workforce Development award. This was for Practical Skills for Professional Education and Leadership in Healthcare Science Programme, which supports healthcare professionals to be curious about the potential for transformational change, both within themselves and their teams. The programme is an innovative approach which encourages individuals to turn that curiosity into real, meaningful changes to encourage and grow leadership skills.

Professor Hill said: ‘The sheer scale and scope of the contribution of healthcare scientists  is often unseen by patients and the public. That’s why these awards are so important. It is right to take the time to reflect on the talent and commitment seen across science being applied in health and recognise the great work that is being done day-in day-out across the country.

‘This year we received a record number of entries, and it is in the face of tough competition that I am extremely proud to showcase this year’s winners. I hope they inspire others to keep up the good work on behalf of the patients and communities they we serve.’

Posted: Mar 20, 2019,
Categories: IPEM News,
Comments: 0,
Author: Sean Edmunds


© Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine

Registered in England and Wales (No. 3080332)
Registered Charity (No.1047999)