Clean sweep by IPEM members at the CSO Awards 2022

IT was a clean sweep by IPEM members at the Chief Scientific Officer’s Excellence in Healthcare Science Awards.

The awards celebrate the contributions and achievements of the healthcare science workforce and the impact they have on patient outcomes, by championing inspiring case studies of quality improvement, innovative partnerships, and pioneering service delivery.

Five individual IPEM members picked up awards:

  • Former President Professor David Brettle, Chief Scientific Officer at Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust, received a Lifetime Achievement award
  • Fellow Professor Wendy Tindale OBE, Consultant Clinical Scientist and Scientific Director at Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, received a Lifetime Achievement award
  • Fellow Claire Greaves, Head of Medical Physics and Clinical Engineering at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust, was also honoured with a Lifetime Achievement award
  • Professor Chris Hopkins, Consultant Clinical Scientist and Head of Innovation & the TriTech Institute at Hywel Dda University Health Board, was the recipient of the Research and Innovation award
  • David Stell, a medical equipment engineer at St George's University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust in London, was the recipient of a Rising Star award. David is the current recipient of the IPEM PhD in Work Bursary.

The National Clinical Engineering Network won a Special Science Achievement award. The network was set up by IPEM Fellow and former President Dr Keith Ison OBE.

The winners were announced at the Chief Scientific Officer’s conference at the De Vere Grand Connaught Rooms in London.

Dr Robert Farley, IPEM’s President, said: ‘What a fantastic night to showcase healthcare science in general and medical physics and clinical engineering in particular. I am absolutely delighted for our members who picked up an award.’