IPEM members join the CSO WISE Healthcare Science Leadership Development Programme

A THIRD of the female healthcare scientists who have been admitted to a brand-new leadership programme are members of IPEM.

The Chief Scientific Officer for NHS England and WISE have introduced a brand-new programme to build the next generation of leaders within healthcare science.

The CSOWISE Healthcare Science Leadership Development Programme for NHS England builds on the success of the CSO WISE Fellowship, which has been delivered over the last three years.

Of the 32 female healthcare scientists who have been admitted to the programme, 11 are members of IPEM.

The CSOWISE HCS Leadership Programme offers mid-career female healthcare scientists in the NHS the chance to gain invaluable leadership experience. It consists of:

  • Attendance on a brand new Leadership Development Programme.
  • Training on personal branding and peer coaching.
  • The opportunity to deliver an impactful project.
  • Developing support networks through Action Learning Sets and the cohort of future leaders.
  • Mentoring by senior leaders in the fields of healthcare, academia and industry.
  • Speaking and ambassadorial opportunities via both the WISE and CSO networks, as well as through attendance at the WISE Conference 2020.
  • The opportunity to join senior leaders at NHS England Healthcare Science advisory meetings.

The 11 IPEM members who have joined the programme are:

  • Rachael Andrews, Clinical Scientist, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Ekaterina Aristovich, Clinical Scientist, Radiological Physics and Radiation Safety, Royal Free NHS Foundation Trust
  • Sarah Bartram, Clinical Scientist, Radiotherapy (Medical Physics), South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Karen Gannon, Deputy Head of Radiation Protection & Imagining Physics, Nuclear Medicine, Barking, Havering and Redbridge University Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Jodie Hampel, Senior Radiation Physicist, Radiation Protection and Imaging Physics, Barking, Havering and Redbridge University Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Claire Hooker, Principal Physicist, Department of Nuclear Medicine, East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust
  • Dr Victoria Kidgell, Clinical Scientist, Rehabilitation Engineering, Specialist Scientific Physiological Services, Department of Medical Physics & Clinical Engineering, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Dr Sarah McQuaid, Principal Clinical Scientist, Medical Physics (Nuclear Medicine), Institute of Nuclear Medicine, University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Rebecca Quest, Acting Head of Magnetic Resonance Physics, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Sarah Ward, Clinical Scientist, Rehabilitation Engineering, Chailey Clinical Services, Sussex Community NHS Foundation Trust
  • Sarah Whitbourn, Principal Clinical Scientist, Medical Physics, Clinical Measurement, South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Mark Tooley, IPEM’s President, said: ‘Many congratulations to all of our members who have been admitted on to this leadership programme and I’m delighted that IPEM is so well represented.

‘I hope they find the programme both stimulating and rewarding and an invaluable way to build their experience.’

You can read the biographies of all those healthcare scientists admitted to the programme here.

Posted: Sep 10, 2019,
Categories: IPEM News,
Comments: 0,
Author: Sean Edmunds


© Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine

Registered in England and Wales (No. 3080332)
Registered Charity (No.1047999)