Advancing Healthcare Awards winners announced


THE winners of the Advancing Healthcare Awards have been announced.

IPEM sponsored the award for the ‘Best collaboration across clinical, academia and industry’, which aims to celebrate effective collaborative working across clinical settings, the academic world and industry to develop new services or streamline existing processes for the benefit of patient care.

The award was won by Paul Lee, an IPEM member and Consultant Clinical Scientist, who is Head of Medical Equipment Management Service at Swansea Bay University Health Board and Chair of the National Association of Medical Device Educators and Trainers (NAMDET), and Jordan Lee, an undergraduate Admin Assistant and Managing Editor of the MDET Journal, for ‘The safe use, storage and setup of medical gas cylinders used in healthcare’.



The Academy for Healthcare Science award for Innovative Practice to Enhance Patient Safety was won by the Clinical Engineering Research and Development team from the Northern Care Alliance for ‘Bringing new 3D printing and visualization methods to clinical practice for difficult airway planning’. The team included IPEM members Dr Hannah Safi and Prawin Samraj.

The Christie medical physics and engineering MR physics group at the Christie NHS Foundation Trust were Highly Commended in the NHS England’s Chief Scientific Officer’s Award for the Outstanding Healthcare Science Service of the Year category.

Dr Anna Barnes, IPEM’s President, who was at the awards ceremony in London, said: ‘Huge congratulations to Paul and the rest of the team for winning the IPEM sponsored award.

‘I’d also like to say well done to the team from the Northern Care Alliance for their win and also to the MR physics group at the Christie who were Highly Commended in their category.’

AHA 2024 Winners' Guide