IPEM President  

Dr Robert Farley is Head of Medical Physics and Clinical Engineering at Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust. He obtained a D. Phil in Chemistry from the University of York and spent more than a decade in academic research working mainly in the UK and Switzerland in the field of electron magnetic resonance and particularly in using electron-nuclear double resonance spectroscopy to determine molecular structural information from disordered systems.  During this time, he developed an interest in education and completed an in-service PGCert in Higher Education at the University of the West of England.  

In 2003 Dr Farley commenced his training as a Clinical Scientist in medical physics and subsequently worked as a radiotherapy physicist in several organisations before starting in his current role in March 2021.  He has maintained his interest in education throughout his career and is an associate lecturer at Newcastle University, an external examiner for the University of Manchester and has been closely involved in the development of the level 7 Clinical Scientist apprenticeship standard.   

Dr Farley has been involved with IPEM for several years including a term as Director of the Professional and Standards Council and as a member of the working party on the certification of existing Medical Physics Experts under the IR(ME)R 2017 legislation. He is currently a member of the Prizes and Awards Panel and acts as a Science Council registration assessor and as a LGBTQ Network Mentor. 

Watch the President's Vlog or read his Blog


IPEM Vice Presidents 


  Vice President Academic: 
Dr Anna Barnes,
Director and Principal Research Fellow in HTA, King's Technology Evaluation Centre, School of Biomedical Engineering & Imaging Science, King's College London
  Vice President Engineering:
Dr Warren Macdonald. Senior Teaching Fellow, Department of Bioengineering, Imperial College, London
  Vice President External:
Dr Richard Axell. 
 Principal Clinical Scientist, Medical Physics and Bioengineering Department University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, and Honorary Senior Lecturer, Queen Square Institute of Neurology, University College London
  Vice President Industry:
Ms Grace Keane.
Clinical Scientist, Boston Scientific
  Vice President International: Vacant


  Vice President Medical Physics: 
Mr Matthew Dunn.
 Head of Radiation Physics, Medical Physics and Clinical Engineering, Nottingham 
University Hospitals NHS Trust






© Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine

Registered in England and Wales (No. 3080332)
Registered Charity (No.1047999)