Background Image for Hero Banner

IPEM Fellow receives the Institute of Physics 2021 Phillips Award

AN IPEM Fellow has been honoured by being awarded a prestigious prize by the Institute of Physics.

Professor Angela Newing

Professor Angela Newing has received the 2021 IOP Phillips Award for her distinguished service to the Institute.

The award is in recognition of her contributions to the IOP through her support of the South West Branch, her service on Council and its sub-committees, and her ongoing support of retired members through the retired members network.

Professor Newing became director of medical physics for Gloucestershire and a Professor of Medical Physics in Cranfield University’s postgraduate medical school.

She became the IOP South West Branch treasurer in 2008 and Branch Chair in 2011. During her time as Chair, the branch established centres for lectures in Salisbury (via the Defence Science and Technology Laboratory), Weymouth (with the Institution of Mechanical Engineers) and Sherborne.

Professor Newing has organised events and meetings at the University of Gloucestershire, mainly in conjunction with the Institution of Engineering and Technology.

IPEM and IOP posts

Professor Newing was elected to the IOP’s Council for four years in 2014, and served on the Audit and Risk Committee. She was also on the Membership Committee and, during this period, established the annual nations and branches forum and moved some of the meetings out of London to broaden their reach.

While on IPEM’s Council, Professor Newing also served as Chair of the Mayneord Phillips Trust for two terms. This trust was specifically set up to arrange summer schools for PhD students at St Edmund Hall, University of Oxford, every other summer, jointly run by IPEM and the IOP.

At the same time, she was the IPEM representative on the IOP Benevolent Fund Committee.

She now sits on the IOP’s ReMNet (retired members committee) and has pushed for the IOP’s Council to look at reducing IOP membership fees for retired members.

Professor Newing said: ‘I am delighted to have been awarded the Phillips Prize, named in memory of Major C E S Phillips, an early pioneer in medical physics. He had a high profile in both the BIR and IOP and was a founder member of the Hospital Physicists' Association [which subsequently became IPEM].

‘He, along with Professor W V Mayneord, also a founder member of HPA, established the Mayneord Phillips Trust which provided (during the time that I was chairman of it), summer schools for PhD students in medical physics. So, it gives me very great pleasure to have received this particular award.’

Dr Robert Farley, IPEM’s President, said: ‘Many congratulations to Professor Newing on being awarded the Phillips Award by the Institute of Physics.

‘It is well deserved recognition for her distinguished service to the IOP and also for the role she has played with IPEM, especially in regard to the Mayneord Phillips Summer School at the University of Oxford.’

* Former long-standing IPEM member, Professor Brian Hutton, was awarded the Peter Mansfield Medal for distinguished contributions to the field of nuclear medicine, specifically in single-photon emission computed tomography quantification, image reconstruction and multimodality imaging, as well as for providing training in the field around the globe.

IOP Phillips Award
Mayneord Phillips summer school