About IPEM

IPEM is a charity registered with the Charity Commissioners of England and Wales (Reg. No. 1047999) and a Company Limited by Guarantee (Reg. No. 3080332). Registration as a charity in Scotland (and Northern Ireland) is not necessary because the Institute's operations in these jurisdictions do not fall within the registration criteria.

IPEM is governed in accordance with its Articles of Association, which were last updated in September 2021.

Articles of Association

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of the Institute and the Trustees are collectively and separately responsible for ensuring good governance and that all Institute activities are in accordance with the objects of the Institute and other legislative requirement. Members of the Board of Trustees are of varied backgrounds and experience. Individually and collectively they exercise independent and objective judgement on behalf of the Institute. The Board of Trustees meets four times a year.

Board Members 2023 - 2024

President - Dr Anna Barnes
Immediate Past President - Dr Robert Farley 
Honorary Secretary (Independent) - Ms Valerie Joliffe
Honorary Treasurer (Independent) - Mr John Turner
Director, Professional & Standards Council - Dr Carl Rowbottom
Director, Science, Technology and Engineering Research and Innovation Council - Dr Mohammad Al-Amri
Member Trustee - Prof Azzam Taktak
Member Trustee - Mr Iain Threlkeld
Member Trustee - Dr A (Mani) Mannivannan
Independent Trustee - Ms Chelsea Roche
Independent Trustee - Mr Jason Wilde
Independent Trustee - Dr Justin Richards 


Board of Trustees' Meeting Dates

Thursday 25th April 
Thursday 18th July 
Thursday 17th October 

Thursday 16th January
Thursday 24th April
Thursday 17th July
Thursday 16th October


Summary Minutes from IPEM Trustees' meetings

April 2023

July 2023

October 2023 

January 2024