Lee Jenkins Memorial Prize won by IPEM members

A PRIZE for a national audit on radiation dosimetry in nuclear medicine and positron emission tomography has been won by two IPEM members.

Anthony Murray, a Consultant Clinical Scientist at Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, and Matthew Memmott, a Consultant Medical Physicist at Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust, won the British Nuclear Medicine Society’s Lee Jenkins Memorial Prize.

Their award was for a national audit investigating the variation in nuclear medicine and positron emission tomography exposure calculations for accidental staff contamination with radionuclides.

They were able to demonstrate there was an unacceptably large national variation in exposure calculations. The next step is to standardise practice by developing new national guidelines and an IPEM task and finish group is currently being formed to do this.

Mr Murray received the award from Professor Vineet Prakash, from the nuclear medicine department at the Royal Surrey NHS Foundation Trust.

Lee Jenkins Memorial Prize