## Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine **Board of Trustees Meeting** held on Thursday 20 July 2023 At Fairmount House, 230 Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1ES

## SUMMARY MINUTES

## Present

Dr Rob Farley	RF	President (Chair)	
Dr Anna Barnes	AB	President-Elect	
Ms Valerie Jolliffe	VJ	Honorary Secretary (Independent Trustee)	
Ms Chelsea Roche	CR	Independent Trustee	
Mr Jason Wilde	JW	Independent Trustee	
Dr Justin Richards	JR	Independent Trustee	
Dr A (Mani) Mannivannan	AM	Member Trustee	
Ms Claire Hardiman	СН	Member Trustee	
Mr Richard Stubbs	RS	Director, Professional and Standards Council (PSC)	
Dr Mohammad Al-Amri	MAA	Director, Science, Technology, Engineering, Research and Innovation Council (STERIC).	
In attendance			
Mr Philip Morgan	PM	Chief Executive	
	<u> </u>		

Mr Philip Morgan	PM	Chief Executive
Ms Claire Sharpe	CS	Head of Operations and Finance
Dr Jemimah Eve	JE	Head of Workforce Intelligence and Training
Mr Paul James	PJ	Head of Membership Development
Mr Paul Barrett	PB	Head of Communications

Apologies were noted from Jain Threlkeld, Member Trustee and John Turner, Hon Treasurer.

- Strategic review of OFQUAL regulation is to be presented to Board once the consultant's report is available
- PSC was asked to scope a review of issues around "right to repair" and the Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Authority (MHRA)
- CS and PJ gave the Board an update of the implementation phase of the Customer Relationship Management (CRM) project, due to be completed in Q4 2023.
- Trustees unanimously voted to approve the 2022 audited accounts and letter of representation, prepared by IPEM's auditor BHP
- Trustees noted the proposed AGM agenda and motions, including the election of the Board of Trustees for 2023/24. Trustees unanimously voted in favour.
- Trustees unanimously voted in favour of awarding Professor Heidi Probst Honorary Fellowship.
- Trustees welcomed the proposal for a new complaint resolution procedure and voted to seek legal opinion.
- Decision was taken to draft a rule change to include a new student membership grade.
- Andrew Reilly has been appointed as VP Scotland.
- Kate Bryant and Andy Irwin have been appointed as VP Wales (role share) •

• Application for VP NI has been received and will be considered.