IPEM members sweep the board at the Chief Scientific Officer’s Healthcare Science Awards

IPEM members swept the board at the annual Chief Scientific Officer’s Healthcare Science Awards – including winning the Healthcare Scientist of the Year.

Professor Paul White was named as the Healthcare Scientist of the Year for his work on the use of deceased circulatory donors (DCD)* for heart transplantation.

In accepting the award, Professor White, an IPEM Fellow and Head of Clinical Engineering at Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, paid tribute to the patients and families of patients, especially those who had died on waiting lists for heart donation.

He was one of a number of IPEM members who either won awards or were finalists in various categories at the Chief Scientific Officer’s Healthcare Science Awards 2017, which recognise and celebrate the contribution of healthcare scientists to the NHS and healthcare.

Dr Christopher Gibson, a former IPEM President, was presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Glafkos Havariyoun, a trainee clinical scientist at King’s College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust in London, won in the Healthcare Science Rising Stars category. Mr Havariyoun is a former winner of the medical physics zone of the I’m a Scientist, Get Me Out of Here competition, which was co-sponsored by IPEM and the Institute of Physics (IOP).

The team at the Southbank University Technical College won the Science and Engineering Engagement Award, which was collected by IPEM Fellow Joanne Young. The audience heard that more than 25 per cent of the young people taking up healthcare science courses at the college were women.

A number of IPEM members were finalists in a number of categories at the awards, which were presented at the Pullman London St Pancras Hotel and which were hosted by writer and broadcaster Vivienne Parry OBE.

Professor Azzam Taktak, an IPEM Fellow, and member Dr Antonio Eleuter, of the Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust, were finalists in the Science Driving Innovation in Healthcare Delivery category.

David Keane, a clinical scientist at Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust, was a finalist in the Science in Health Research category.

Sarah Allen, Head of Nuclear Medicine Physics at Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust, and Richard Fernandez, a clinical scientist at Guy’s, were finalists in the Science and Engineering Engagement category.

Professor David Brettle, IPEM President, who was at the awards ceremony, said: ‘Huge congratulations go to everyone who either won an award or were shortlisted in their category.

‘It is fantastic that we have so many talented and dedicated members who are not only a credit to themselves and their profession but who will also inspire others to strive to be the best.’

*To read more about Professor White’s work on DCD, please see the profile of him in December’s issue of Scope magazine.

Pictured (top to bottom) are IPEM President David Brettle with Professor Paul White, Dr Christopher Gibson, and Glafkos Havariyoun and Joanne Young

Posted: Mar 7, 2017,
Categories: IPEM News,
Comments: 0,
Author: Sean Edmunds


© Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine

Registered in England and Wales (No. 3080332)
Registered Charity (No.1047999)