Governance of IPEM

IPEM is a charity registered with the Charity Commissioners of England and Wales (Reg. No. 1047999) and a Company Limited by Guarantee (Reg. No. 3080332).

Registration as a charity in Scotland (and Northern Ireland) is not necessary because the Institute's operations in these jurisdictions do not fall within the registration criteria.

IPEM is governed in accordance with its Articles of Association, which were last updated on 3 September 2013.

Click on the Articles of Association and Rules

IPEM Investment Policy

Board of Trustees 

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of the Institute and the Trustees are collectively and separately responsible for ensuring good governance and that all Institute activities are in accordance with the objects of the Institute and other legislative requirement. Members of the Board of Trustees are of varied backgrounds and experience. Individually and collectively they exercise independent and objective judgement on behalf of the Institute.  

The Board of Trustees meets four times a year and the Chairman of the Board in 2018/2019 is the President Professor Mark Tooley.

Other Board Members:

President Elect

Professor Stephen O'Connor

Honorary Secretary (Independent)

Mrs Danielle Ross

Honorary Treasurer

Mr David Ellis

Director, Professional & Standards Council

Dr Robert Farley

Director, Science, Research & Innovation Council

Dr Roger Staff

Member Trustee

Professor Bernie Conway

Member Trustee

Dr Anna Barnes

Member Trustee

Dr Christopher Callicott

Independent Trustee 

Mr John Turner      

Independent Trustee

Mrs Alison Robinson-Canham

 Independent Trustee   Dr Justin Richards

Board of Trustees Meeting Dates 2018/19

Thursday 11 October 2018

Thursday 24 January 2019

Thursday 11 April 2019

Thursday 18 July 2019

Thursday 10 October 2019

© Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine

Registered in England and Wales (No. 3080332)
Registered Charity (No.1047999)